Forums Gone... but not forgotten!
Pontiac of the Month

FBIRD69's 1969 Firebird

2024 March
of the Month

• Rev up your passion for Pontiacs and join our vibrant community of enthusiasts!

Whether you're a die-hard fan of classic muscle cars or you've got a soft spot for sleek modern models, you've found your home here at Forever Pontiac. Our community is dedicated to celebrating everything Pontiac, from the iconic GTO to the legendary Firebird and everything in between.

Unlock access to expert advice, stunning photo galleries, engaging discussions, exclusive events, and more!

Start your Pontiac journey with us today!

Getting ready for My engine rebuild (400)

Good day everyone. Been awhile since I have logged on. 

I am currently getting ready for the rebuild of my 1971 400 out of my LeMans sport. This is my first engine rebuild, I have some knowledge gained from reading some articles and watching videos of you tube ect. 

I'll tell you a little about my engine. It's a matching numbers 400ci it has 96 heads and a  edelbrock aluminum intake. My plan is to keep it as a 400 and not bore or stroke it. If needed I will go .030 over but I would like to keep it stock bore and stroke.  I ordered a holley sniper efi, and ram air exhaust manifolds already. 

My plan is to do 

Roller rockers (1.6 ratio?)

New springs

new cam and lifters (flat tappet?)

Forged rods

Forged  pistons (cc?)

New bearings ( clevite?)

New main bolts (arp)

I'm curios what cam to use, I don't want to go to far from stock as it's mainly a cruiser that i want to have decent fuel economy, But I still want to have a bit of power for when the new sports cars to pass me.  Can I use a ram air cam on a non ram air motor? 

Also what rocker ratio I need? 1.5?, 1.6? Does this depend on my cam?

Am I dumb staying flat tappet? I don't really want to drop $1000 for roller cam and lifters and I've also seen a few roller lifters break on people and that scares me.