Forums Gone... but not forgotten!
Pontiac of the Month

Jack Leslie's 1957 Sedan Delivery

2024 April
of the Month

• Rev up your passion for Pontiacs and join our vibrant community of enthusiasts!

Whether you're a die-hard fan of classic muscle cars or you've got a soft spot for sleek modern models, you've found your home here at Forever Pontiac. Our community is dedicated to celebrating everything Pontiac, from the iconic GTO to the legendary Firebird and everything in between.

Unlock access to expert advice, stunning photo galleries, engaging discussions, exclusive events, and more!

Start your Pontiac journey with us today!

1960 389 all things considered

I found a 1960 389 to build for my 57 pontiac....needed the 59-60 389 because i wanted to use the current 4 speed hydromatic in my car.........it was missing the heads and badly needing a rebuild

I have never built a pontiac motor before,the 347 runs good....but honestly not good enough,and id like a bit more power +347`s are very expensive to rebuild

I found a very nice set of #15 68 pontiac heads......they are at the machine shop being rebuilt

an NOS edelbrock p4b intake (with 2inch riser) and new 650 edelbrock AVS2 carb

a Nos 068 pontiac cam and lifters (a freind had this and gave it to me),and set of 1.5 roller rockers

HEI distributer

Stock bore 400 Badger pistons/rings   (.060 basically for the 389)

running a PCV system rather than the crappy road draft tube

Im not looking for anything radical....just a good running strong motor hopefully making 300 hp?

What ya all think?

20200910_134035.jpg

cant figure out how to flip my pic!!!!!

• Like 2

Tired of these Ads? Register Today!

I'm currently rebuilding my own 389. Check out my 'Fitzy's GP is back!' thread for hours of viewing pleasure. I'm also going with the 068 cam & headers, otherwise it'll be stock.

• Like 1