Forums Gone... but not forgotten!
Pontiac of the Month

Jack Leslie's 1957 Sedan Delivery

2024 April
of the Month

• Rev up your passion for Pontiacs and join our vibrant community of enthusiasts!

Whether you're a die-hard fan of classic muscle cars or you've got a soft spot for sleek modern models, you've found your home here at Forever Pontiac. Our community is dedicated to celebrating everything Pontiac, from the iconic GTO to the legendary Firebird and everything in between.

Unlock access to expert advice, stunning photo galleries, engaging discussions, exclusive events, and more!

Start your Pontiac journey with us today!

Drilling out spot welds

Okay so I learned the difference today when it comes to spot weld cutters. Harbor Freights are good for about five holes at the most. I have been using them for a few years and understood that they dull fast but never given it a shot. $3.99 per cutter so I was not overly enthusiastic about it but they did the job. I was at a paint supply shop and they sell the cutters for $20.00. Thus far it has lasted 38 spot welds and still going strong. Next I am going to invest in some higher end drill bits instead of the Dewalt ones I have been buying.

Tired of these Ads? Register Today!

Who makes the spot weld cutter bit you are now using?

As for the drill bits, it is the drill bits or perhaps you need to sharpen them. DeWalt does not strike me as a cheap brand of tools or drill bits in this case (unlike Harbor Freight). I have a Drill Doctor to resharpen dull drill bits. Its a surprising difference what a really sharp bit will do.

I have a drill doctor and cannot get it to work to save my life. I cannot remember what the name brand it but I will try and find out.

Operator error on the Drill Doctor? Perhaps you need some assistance from GE's stump water to help you remember the instructions.

• 11 months later...

So I started with these spot weld cutters: